A+ A-

ALBUM: Milk & Sugar - 20 Years of Milk & Sugar out on Milk & Sugar Recordings

On October 20, Germany’s dynamic double act Milk & Sugar  released a special CD artist album to commemorate their 20th anniversary, distributed via their label Milk & Sugar Recordings.

Since forming in 1997, Mike Kay and Steven Harding aka Milk & Sugar have lived a career most DJs would dream of. They’ve performed globally alongside dance royalty such as Frankie Knuckles and David Morales, remixed on request the likes of Jamiroquai, Janet Jackson & Ben Pearce, and have continued to supply dance floors with a steady stream of powerful hits, both via their own imprint and on revered labels such as Enormous Tunes, Positiva, Ministry of Sound and many more.

Despite boasting such an impressive back-catalogue, the pair were keen to ensure the album wasn’t solely focused on the past. "We didn´t want to simply release a best of album with all of our past singles and remixes” they explain. “So we went to the studio and created new productions that sonically offer a more modern, electronic focused sound.”

These sessions lead to the creation of the duo’s three 2017 singles in ‘Higher & Higher (Milk & Sugar remix)’, ‘Music Is Moving’ and most recently, their euphoric house anthem ‘Summertime’ – tracks all included on the album. Other new productions present include the soul-infused ‘Where Do We Go’, featuring English singer Jo Hall, the pulsating club-ready banger ‘You And I’, with Aquarian Dreams and their 2017 version of their timeless hit, ‘Let The Sun Shine’ – a song which reached No.1 in the US-Billboard Dance and Airplay charts upon release in 2003.

Despite the focus on the new, the album still features several of the duo’s most celebrated hits. This includes the euphoric-groover ‘My Lovin’ featuring iconic soul singer,Barbara Tucker (who also appears on ‘Needin U’), 'Bass (How Low Can You Go)' alongside Simon Harris and their massive 2013 anthem, ‘Canto Del Pilon’ - that has racked up over 5 million plays on Youtube since its release.

“It’s been an amazing 20 years for us”, state the pair. “Even this year we’re still performing at places we’ve not been before, taking our music to new audiences. We are looking forward to seeing what the next 20 years holds for us!”
'20 Years Of Milk & Sugar’ is out now.  milksugar.lnk.to/20Years

01. 20 Years of Milk & Sugar (Intro)
02. Summertime (Album Version)
03. My Lovin (Album Version) with Barbara Tucker
04. Let The Sun Shine (2017 Album Version)
05. Music Is Moving (Album Version)
06. Heat [African Day] (Album Version) feat. Nomfusi
07. Bass [How Low Can You Go] (Album Version) vs. Simon Harris
08. House Dimension (Album Version) feat. Ron Carroll
09. Where Do We Go (Album Version) feat. Jo Hall
10. Need You In My Life (Album Version) feat. Roland Clark
11. Higher & Higher (2017 Album Version)
12. Ready Or Not (Album Version)
13. Canto Del Pilón (Album Version) feat. Maria Marquez
14. You And I (Album Version) feat. Aquarian Dreams
15. Needin U (Album Version) with Barbara Tucker
16. Loving You (Album Version) feat. Ghetto Bardot
17. Has Your Man Got Soul (Chasing Kurt Album Remix)

Dimitri Kechagias review:
[review top="1"]
 [item value="10"]Beat and Rhythm[/item]
 [item value="10"]Basslines and Groove[/item]
 [item value="10"] Melody [/item]
 [item value="10"] Synths [/item]
 [item value="10"]Vocals and Lyrics[/item]
 [item value="10"]Breakdown[/item]
 [item value="10"]Climax  / Drop / Crescendo / Pay off moment[/item]
 [item value="10"]Intensity, Drive and Energy[/item]
 [item value="10"]Sound-design and Arrangement[/item]
 [item value="10"]Overall Atmosphere[/item]
 [item value="10"]Goosebumps / Shivers moments[/item]
 [item value="10"]Emotional affinity and heartfelt moments[/item]
 [item value="10"]Originality and Inventiveness[/item]
 [item value="10"]Dancefloor Efficiency / Festival Arenas Effectiveness[/item]
 [item value="10"]Radio Friendly[/item]
 [item value="10"]You can’t get this memorable track out of your head[/item]
 [item value="10"]It has potential to become an anthem or a classic[/item]
 [item value="10"]Milk & Sugar - 20 Years of Milk & Sugar [/item]
 [content title="Summary" label="Overall Score"]Milk & Sugar considered to be one of the most important and influential house duo's ever coming from the German house scene. Their style is soulful, funky, feel good with crossover potential and for that reason they have climbed at the top of mainstream charts many times during their 20 Years presence within the very competitive global house scene. Their brilliant 20 years album documents in the most clear and coherent way why this duo is highly regarded and respected not only for their positive vibes but also for their undeniable DJ skills that showcase around the globe in various music festivals and clubs. Every record included will definitely bring back memories of mainly beautiful summer holidays that many of these tracks were part of your summer vacations soundtrack. The tracks included in their special album version and my favourites are Summertime, Heat, Canto Del Pilón and Needin U. Blessed with the opportunity to work with exceptional singers who have offered memorable performances for that perfect singalong moment. House Music History is richer and more vibrant after the legacy of Milk & Sugar. #PureGold Love iT  [/content]

Additional info: