A+ A-

REVIEW: V/A Magic Island Vol. 8 Album Sampler 1 on Magic Island Records

On his process for the eighth ‘Magic Island’ compilation series, Roger says: “I‘ve again spent 4 months working on this new edition, going through more than 600 tracks to pick out those special ones, as well including a couple of my own new tracks. All the tracks/mixes are again 100% exclusively handcrafted for this album. 
This time my wide range of sound selection goes from chilled and deep Balearic house tracks, to underground tech and sexy tribal grooves, before shifting up to proggier vibes on Disc 01. Disc 02 kicks off very melodic and then turns into uplifting euphoria. I mixed and recorded this album during my tour in Australia. City credits go to Sydney and Melbourne”.
 Mix 1. 
01. Cullera featuring Ne/Re/A - Sonido Del Mar (MI8 Intro Mix)
02. Jackie Bristow - Without You (Roger Shah’s Campfire Mix)
03. Bob Memphis - Stars Above
04. Brian Laruso - Killa (MI8 Mix)
05. Brian Laruso - Okushiri (MI8 Mix)
06. Raul Pablo Sanchez - Turnschuhe (MI8 Mix)
07. Electric Dunes - Crossfire (MI8 Mix)
08. Bob Memphis - Distant Shores
09. NotAndrew & Alain Ducroix - Unstoppable (Extended Mix)
10. High Noon At Salinas - Aqua
11. High Noon At Salinas - 12PM
12. DIPNOI - Central
13. Sunlounger & Eden Iris - Dancing With A Ghost (MI8 Mix)
14. Clarks featuring SJS - White Shores
15. Martin Graff & Triple S - Vulgaris
16. Clarks - Sanya
17. Torio & Darkmada - Ascending

Mix 2. 
01. Bilal El Aly featuring Juliet Lyons - After You (Melodic Intro Mix)
02. Denis Sender - Santa Monica Sunset
03. Arcania - Rhodes
04. JES - Photograph (Roger Shah MI8 Mix)
05. Dirkie Coetzee meets VioLika - Adagio In F Minor
06. Mark Norman pres Celine - Colour My Eyes (Roger Shah MI8 Mix)
07. Andrew Henry - Hermos
08. David Broaders - Giant’s Causeway
09. Sergey Shabanov - Follow The Orange Light
10. Phil Dinner - Playing With Your Heart
11. Andy Elliass & ARCZI - Neli
12. Bernis - Lucida
13. Sergey Shabanov - Wasted
14. Roger Shah & Inger Hansen - Castles In The Sky (Extended Uplifting Mix)
15. NavidN2M & Nathia Kate - No More War
16. Aaron Sim - Eternity
17. Rene Ablaze & Suzanna Dee - Fallen Angel (Magic Island Mix)
18. Roger Shah presents LeiLani - Eternal Time (Uplifting MI8 Mix)
19. Pierre Pienaar - Emirembe

Dimitri Kechagias review:
[review top="1"]
 [item value="10"]Beat and Rhythm[/item]
 [item value="10"]Basslines and Groove[/item]
 [item value="10"] Melody [/item]
 [item value="10"] Synths [/item]
 [item value="10"]Vocals and Lyrics[/item]
 [item value="10"]Breakdown[/item]
 [item value="10"]Climax  / Drop / Crescendo / Pay off moment[/item]
 [item value="10"]Intensity, Drive and Energy[/item]
 [item value="10"]Sound-design and Arrangement[/item]
 [item value="10"]Overall Atmosphere[/item]
 [item value="10"]Goosebumps / Shivers moments[/item]
 [item value="10"]Emotional affinity and heartfelt moments[/item]
 [item value="10"]Originality and Inventiveness[/item]
 [item value="10"]Dancefloor Efficiency / Festival Arenas Effectiveness[/item]
 [item value="10"]Radio Friendly[/item]
 [item value="10"]You can’t get this memorable track out of your head[/item]
 [item value="10"]It has potential to become an anthem or a classic[/item]
 [item value="10"]V/A Magic Island Vol. 8 Album Sampler 1 [/item]
 [content title="Summary" label="Overall Score"]The Magic Island compilation mixed by Roger Shah is one of  the most anticipated each year with large global following and faithful punters who can not think their summer without the Magic Island magic tricks.  The great samplers include the extended versions perfect for DJs to play and give just a nice byte of summer. Firstly Cullera ft. Ne-Re-A deliver the stunning Sonido Del Mar. Tribal Balearic deep house beauty with great organic arrangement with top notch tribal drums along with nice Balearic guitar riffs and the Spanish female vocals that hypnotize the listener nicely. It will take you back on the Cafe Del Mar style of tracks that sound perfect early morning with the first sunrays.  DIPNOI give us an excellent deep progressive beauty with super strong memorable melodic themes and cool understated energetic synthy hook for the needs of Central. Dreamy mysterious dark and haunting is the kind of track that its warmth can only remind you of the summer breeze in your favourite beach. The breakdown includes typical balearic guitar riff  with the needed dose of sunkissed themes along with nice vocal chops. Lastly Martin Graff & Triple S collaborate for Vulgaris. The track is a warm melodic progressive trancer with Ibiza like synths and very sweet progression of melodies that absorb your senses nicely.  The breakdown reveals the melancholic moody piano followed by euphoric hands in the air climax that will awake your soul and make you feel transcended to another space and time. #PureGold Love IT [/content]

Additional info: