A+ A-

ALBUM: BT - The Lost Art of Longing on Black Hole Recordings

Pioneering sound architect BT announces new album “The Lost Art Of Longing”.

Grammy-Nominated film composer, technologist, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, and trance music icon BT announces his long-awaited new studio album “The Lost Art Of Longing.” BT’s first dance music-oriented album in seven years is preceded by today’s release of the single ‘No Warning Lights’ with the voice of Emma Hewitt. 

“The Lost Art of Longing” is BT at his finest and finds a spot next to classic material including all-time greats ‘Ima,’ ‘ESCM’, and ‘Movement In Still Life.’ The album features 14 tracks that traverse the world of electronic dance music, from the cinematic ambiance of “Game Theory,” the progressive ‘Wildfire,’ ‘Walk Into The Water,’ ‘1AM in Paris’ and ‘Windows,’ the breakbeat wallop of ‘The Light Is Always On’ and ‘The War,’ the electro/synth inspired ‘Weltanschauu ng,’ the brooding trance of ‘No Warning Lights’ with Emma Hewitt, to the electronic lullaby “Save Me.’ 
“The Lost Art of Longing” is BT’s ode to the things in life that have a deep personal significance and meaning that are becoming archaic, antiquated, even extinct. The handwritten love letter, a rotary telephone, a book, early computers, vintage synthesizers, telephone wires, typewriters… all in sheds or garages, landfills, and other places… slowly decaying and being forgotten. There are love stories in there, stories of war and triumph, and courage and tragedy. People’s stories. Things that should be remembered. 

“One of the things nearing extinction; is the art of longing. As in, wanting of something you cannot immediately have. If anything positive is to come from the situation the world collectively finds itself in, it is my great hope - speed, instant gratification, and over-stimulation are swapped out for longing, imagination, and relational connection. For a child or teenager to sit thoughtfully and ponder what is to come, to hope for or envision something amazing, to dream of a place or a future - is becoming obsolete. Longing has been replaced with instant gratification. My hope is that this record reacquaints my audience with the lost art of longing. That they will take pause, get quiet, daydream, and connect to their own place of longing. Because that, I believe, is where the magic is,” BT says.
Earlier this summer BT gave fans an inside look at “The Lost Art Of Longing” with the release of double single ‘1AM in Paris (with Matt Fax)’ / ‘The War (with Iraina Mancini)’ and now he’s peeling back the curtain further with his latest single ‘No Warning Lights’ with Emma Hewitt. The song takes the listener on a voyage, starting from a field recording taken at a train station in Amsterdam and departing through a wall of Emma Hewitt’s rich vocals and BT’s blend of trance 2.0, orchestral writing and heavy sound design. This is the peak of BT’s orchestral writing combined with the best of his dance music writing in a single composition. 

01. BT - Game Theory [Electronica]
02. BT - Wildfire [Progressive House]
03. BT, Matt Fax & Nation Of One - Walk into the Water [Trance]
04. BT & Matt Fax - 1AM in Paris [Progressive House]
05. BT, Au5 & Mangal Suvarnan - The Light is Always On [Indie Dance]
06. BT & Iraina Mancini - The War [Breaks]
07. BT - Weltanschauung [Indie Dance]
08. BT - I Will Be Yours [Trance]
09. BT, Wish I Was & Lola Rhodes - If I Can Love You Right [Electronica]
10. BT - Never Odd or Even [Progressive House]
11. BT & April Bender - Windows [Trance]
12. BT & Christian Burns - Red Lights [Indie Dance]
13. BT & Emma Hewitt - No Warning Lights [Trance]
14. BT & Christian Burns - Save Me [Organic House]


Dimitri Kechagias review:
[review top="1"]
 [item value="10"]BT - The Lost Art of Longing [/item]
 [content title="Summary" label="Overall Score"]BT is considered to be one of the true pioneers of electronic dance music. With his affection for new technologies, advanced sound design and composition tools BT releases always stand out from the crowd and his albums become classics and part of your collection. The Lost Art of Longing is an album that includes wide variety of styles from indie dance, breaks to progressive house and trance with awesome collaborations with great singers that elevate the tracks with their emotionally touching performances. The empowering lyrics manage to capture your imagination and you will find it pretty impossible not to start sing-a-long with songs like No Warning Lights, Walk into the Water, Save Me and The War. They are meaningful and you can associate your personal story line with them. The melodies are infectious and make you feel instantly excited, energized, and pretty hopeful that after the rain there is always rainbow of real hope and freedom. It's one of those albums that you can play on repeat endlessly!  #PureGold Love IT  [/content]

Additional info: